random · theme · Western

(Not) Cheesy Love Songs

People around me are in love and i’m still wondering why i don’t meet someone to fall in love with in such a long time?  That kind of envious feeling is always mess me up since i’m not young anymore *self-diss*. But its okay, just go with it, i have a feeling i’ll meet  lover in this year *pray*. So, even though i’m still fighting with this emptiness in my heart , today i wanna write about love songs.

I always wonder why on the earth people use a term “cheesy” for love songs? As long it has a good music, i don’t really care about the words. Even if it just contains the line”I will love you forever” or if it just repeating the words “I just wanna say i love you”, i’ll not consider the song as cheesy love song. Yes, the words are cheesy but the music will be the savior.

My favorite love song all the time will always goes to Stevie Wonder’s Ribbon In The Sky (1995) from the album Natural Wonder. I remember listened Misia’s cover of this song a long time ago and fell so hard with this original version. This is kind of song that you want to hear on your wedding day thus you’ll be bursting with happiness yet warm feeling will flowing in your heart (i start being cheesy tho).

Ribbon In The Sky

Oh so long for this night I prayed
That a star would guide you my way
To share with me this special day
Where a ribbon’s in the sky for our love

If allowed may I touch your hand
And if pleased may I once again
So that you too will understand
There’s a ribbon in the sky for our love

Do…Do…
Do Do Do Do Do…
Hmm Hmm…

This is not a coincidence
And far more than a lucky chance
But what is that was always meant
Is our ribbon in the sky for our love, love

We can’t lose with God on our side
We’ll find strength in each tear we cry
From now on it will be you and I
And our ribbon in the sky
Ribbon in the sky
A ribbon in the sky for our love

Do…Do…
Do Do Do Do Do…
Hmm Hmm…

During my childhood i listened to Celine Dion’s All The Way ….A Decade Of Songs album (1999) and i knew i loved each tracks especially All The Way (originally Frank Sinatra’s).  She had a chance to performed a virtual duet with Frank Sinatra and that song nominated for Grammy for Best Collaboration. I read about her love story with Rene Angelil when i was a child no wonder why i cried while watching his funeral ceremony. This song will always be remind me of her true love.

All The Way

When somebody loves you
It’s no good unless he loves you all the way
Happy to be near you
When you need someone to cheer you all the wayTaller than the tallest tree is
That’s how it’s got to feel
Deeper than the deep blue sea is
That’s how deep it goes if it’s realWhen somebody needs you
It’s no good unless he needs you all the way
Through the good or lean years
And for all the in-between years come what mayWho knows where the road will lead us
Only a fool would say
But if you’ll let me love you
It’s for sure I’m gonna love you all the way all the way

So, if you’ll let me love you
It’s for sure I’m gonna love you all the way all the way

 

Its almost 4 years since i listened to Bread for the first time. The song “If” still on my playlist until now (together with Make It With You). It belongs to the album Manna (1971). Don’t you feel this song bring back memories from nowhere?
IF
 If a picture paints a thousand words
Then why can’t I paint you?
The words will never show
The you I’ve come to knowIf a face could launch a thousand ships
Then where am I to go?
There’s no one home but you
You’re all that’s left me too
And when my love for life is running dry
You come and pour yourself on meIf a man could be two places at one time
I’d be with you
Tomorrow and today
Beside you all the way

If the world should stop revolving
Spinning slowly down to die
I’d spend the end with you
And when the world was through
Then one by one the stars would all go out
Then you and I would simply fly away

Leave a Reply

