theme

Lullabies (Part 1)

“In the future, if i have a child, i’ll be a singing mother”. This thought always comes to my mind whenever i sing a song for my nephew to make him sleep. I don’t know another way to make children sleeping but singing a lullaby. In my case, lullaby means my favorite songs, not baby songs. For my 6 and 4 year old kids, i’ll singing Tidurlah (from Payung Teduh) before bed. The baby (7 month), i have tons of song to sing before he goes to the dreamland. The repertoires are…

  • Try To Remember & The White Rose of Athens from Nana Mouskouri
  • Se (Cinema Paradiso’s original soundtrack) and Pure Imagination from Jacky Evancho
  • Senja from White Shoes And The Couples Company
  • Menulis Cinta from Ubiet & Dian HP
  • Minangkabau popular song called Ratok.

Its really amazing and warm feeling to see the baby sleeping in your arms after those songs were singing for him. I do remember my mom favorite lullaby before bedtime, a sad song about tragic story of deer couple. My sister’s lullaby for her kids is her favorite Minangkabau song.

In Indonesia the term lullaby commonly called Nina Bobo. But, do you ever know, In Turkey the song before sleep for children called Ninni Bebe (please CMIIW).  I introduce you some songs i found on Youtube, below:

Dandini Dandini Dastana

Dandini dandini dastana
Danalar girmiş bostana
Kov bostancı danayı
Yemesin lahanayı
Huuu huuu huuu

Dandini dandini danadan
Bir ay doğmuş anadan
Kaçınmamış yaradan
Mevla korusun nazardan
Huuu huuu huu hu

Dandini dandini danaylı
Kaplarımız kalaylı
Kızım konak gelini
Oğlum olsa saraylı
Huu huu huu hu

Dandini dandini danaylı
Benim oğlum onaylık
On olmasın beş olsun
Güzellere eş olsun
Eee eee eee

Translation:

Dan-dini dan-dini dastana
Into the garden the calves did stray.
Gardener quickly chase them away.
They will eat the cabbages without delay,
Huuu- huuu- huuu

Dan-dini dan-dini
A moon is born from a mothers womb,
God has not witheld anything from him
May God protect him from the Evil Eye
Huuu- huuu -huu hu

Dan-dini Dan-dini
May our pots be coated with tin
May my daughter be a bride in a mansion
And my son dwell in a palace
Huuu –huuu- huu hu

Dan-dini Dan-dini
My son is ten months old
Even were he only five months old
May he find beauties as brides
Eh-e, eh-e eh-e eh-e!!

Adalardan çıktım yola (I Left the Islands on Foot)

Adalardan çıktım yayan
Kardaş atlı bacı yayan
Digel bu dertlere dayan
Nenni nenni nenni nenni
Nenni bebek oy

Bebeğin beşiği çamdan
Yuvarlandı düştü damdan
Bey babası gelir Şamdan
Nenni nenni nenni nenni
Nenni bebek oy

Bebeğin beşiği bakır
Yerinden kalkmıyor ağır
Ben sallarım takır takır
Nenni nenni nenni nenni
Nenni bebek oy

Translation:

I left the islands on foot
Brothers on horseback, sisters on foot
How can I bear these troubles?
Nenni nenni nenni nenni
Nenni baby oy

The baby’s cradle is of pine
It rolled and fell off the roof out of the blue
His noble father comes from Damascus
Nenni nenni nenni nenni
Nenni baby oy

The baby’s cradle is of copper
It’s too heavy to move
I rock the empty cradle
Nenni nenni nenni nenni
Nenni baby oy

Sen bir güzel meleksin (You are a Beautiful Angel)

Sen bir güzel meleksin
Her gönülde çiçeksin
Sen bir güzel meleksin
Her gönülde dileksin
Sen ne şirin bebeksin
Uyu uyu gözbebeğim
Uyu uyu ninni
Sen ne şirin bebeksin
Uyu uyu gözbebeğim
Uyu uyu ninni

Açık sana kucağım
Şefkat tüten ocağım
Açık sana kucağım
Ağlama yavrucağım
Uyu uyu gözbebeğim
Uyu uyu ninni
Ağlama yavrucağım
Uyu uyu gözbebeğim
Uyu uyu ninni

Translation:

You are a beautiful angel
You are a flower in every heart
You are a beautiful angel
You are a wish in every heart
What a cute baby you are
Sleep apple of my eye sleep ninni
Sleep sleep ninni.
What a cute baby you are
Sleep apple of my eye sleep ninn
iSleep sleep ninni.

My home is suffused with affection
My bosom is open for you.
My home is suffused with affection
My bosom is open for you.
Don’t cry my sweetheart.
Sleep apple of my eye, sleep ninni
Sleep sleep ninni.
What a cute baby you are
Sleep apple of my eye sleep ninn
Sleep sleep ninni.

The lyrics and translations credit to : http://www.kindersite.org/Lullabies/LullabiesTK.htm

Leave a Reply

