in english · lyric · music · song

My Top 10 Favourite ABBA Songs

picture from : http://digitalk7.com
picture from : http://digitalk7.com

I first listened their music in 2004, from the Japanese drama called Strawberry On The Shortcake. My first crush was S.O.S and the ending song, Chiquitita. From back then, all i know was “what kind of music is this? i never hear this  genre before”. But i was definitely fell in love with their songs.

So there i was on the shop, with ABBA’s The Definitive Collection in my hand. So, after 10 years i’ll tell you my very favourite ABBA Songs. Here they are.

10. I Have A Dream (1979)

As a 90’s generation, i grow up with some Westlife’s. I Have a Dream was such a huge hits when i back into my junior school. Everybody loves this song. But i did not really into Westlife, and so about this song. Till i listened the original version (ABBA).

9. Under Attack (1982)

When someone loves you, but you feel hesitate and couldn’t make up your mind…literally, you are on term “under attack”.

Under attack, I’m being taken
About to crack, defences breaking
Won’t somebody please have a heart
Come and rescue me now cos I’m falling apart
Under attack, I’m taking cover
He’s on my track, my chasing lover
Thinking nothing can stop him now
Should I want to, I’m not sure, I would know how

8. Angeleyes (1979)

Its remind me about my legendary account on Multiply.com (remember this?). I was put antgeleyes.multiply.com, that was inspired by this song, hahaha. I found it a lil bit annoying to hear Ah-ha-ha ah-aaaah- part on the beginning, hehe.

Look into his angeleyes
One look and you’re hypnotized
He’ll take your heart and you must pay the price
Look into his angeleyes
You’ll think you’re in paradise
And one day you’ll find out he wears a disguise
Don’t look too deep into those angeleyes
Oh no no no no

7. Knowing Me Knowing You (1976)

This song is about break-up of relationship. In reality, this song tell us about the divorce between the band members, Benny and Frida. So, for me personally, this song brings such a blue feeling.

Knowing me, knowing you (ah-haa)
There is nothing we can do
Knowing me, knowing you (ah-haa)
We just have to face it, this time we’re through
(This time we’re through, this time we’re through
This time we’re through, we’re really through)
Breaking up is never easy, I know but I have to go
(I have to go this time I have to go, this time I know)
Knowing me, knowing you
It’s the best I can do

6. Mamma Mia (1975)

Even with up-beat rhyme, its not happy song, everybody. Could you hate your lover? But then, you end up love him again and again.

Mamma mia, here I go again
My my, how can I resist you?
Mamma mia, does it show again?
My my, just how much I’ve missed you
Yes, I’ve been brokenhearted
Blue since the day we parted
Why, why did I ever let you go?
Mamma mia, now I really know,
My my, I could never let you go.

5. Fernando (1976)

Fernando just became so classic. Its seems that i have listened this song for a long long time. In fact, this one of my favourite song to sing in karaoke. The lyrics itself just so sad yet makes me tremble . My favorite line is “If I had to do the same again. I would, my friend, Fernando

They were closer now Fernando
Every hour every minute seemed to last eternally
I was so afraid Fernando
We were young and full of life and none of us prepared to die
And I’m not ashamed to say
The roar of guns and cannons almost made me cry

4. Super Trouper (1980)

I always confuse wheter this is happy or sad song.

Tonight the Super Trouper lights are gonna find me
Shining like the sun (Sup-p-per Troup-p-per)
Smiling, having fun (Sup-p-per Troup-p-per)
Feeling like a number one
Tonight the Super Trouper beams are gonna blind me
But I won’t feel blue (Sup-p-per Troup-p-per)
Like I always do (Sup-p-per Troup-p-per)
‘Cause somewhere in the crowd there’s yo

 

3. SOS (1975)

Its gonna be hard when relationship broken. It used to be so nice, it used to be so good. But everything is different now.

So when you’re near me, darling can’t you hear me S. O. S.
The love you gave me, nothing else can save me S. O. S.
When you’re gone
How can I even try to go on?
When you’re gone
Though I try how can I carry on?

2. Thank You For The Music (1977)

Its start with inferiority lyrics ” I’m nothing special, in fact I’m a bit of a bore . If I tell a joke, you’ve probably heard it before“. But then, you’ll hear how strong words by words on this beautiful song. My favourite is “I’ve been so lucky, I am the girl with golden hair . I wanna sing it out to everybody . What a joy, what a life, what a chance”. I guess you’ll find happiness on this song.

1. Chiquitita (1979)

That wonderful guitar on the beginning, followed with piano, and you’ll listen wonderful lyrics singing by Anni and Agnetha.  I always put this song on the first place. Its not just because this one i first listened, but i love everything about this song. Especially the lyrics.

Chiquitita, you and I know
How the heartaches come and they go and the scars they’re leaving
You’ll be dancing once again and the pain will end
You will have no time for grieving
Chiquitita, you and I cry
But the sun is still in the sky and shining above you
Let me hear you sing once more like you did before
Sing a new song, Chiquitita
Try once more like you did before
Sing a new song, Chiquitita

Leave a Reply

